Events on the Cabrillo Astronomy Calendar

As of Aug 17, 2018. Check out past events here.

Asteroid Occ Predictions: Steve Preston's , Derek Breit's , Calif Path Maps , SF Extra Event , Brad Timerson's , Report Template

Software: Using AVIsynth , TANGRA , Making Aladin Finder Charts , Limiting Mag , Registax and Occ Video

Making C2A Charts , Aladin Photo Charts , 2-star Alignment of LX200gps , YouTube IOTA Videos

My "HowTo" on Reducing Asteroid Occultations , Reported Asteroid Occulations

Equipment: Watec 910HX , my Watec Tests , Video astrometry , PC165DNR , Video recording

South Bay Grazes , SF Grazes , Lunar Phases , Driving Distance Calculator , Remote Control of PC165DNR , Atmospheric Extinction vs Altitude=.4/sin(a) mags

Free WiFi hotspots in California , Comet /DSO Photo Op's
M67 Mag Chart , ToBuy

Cabrillo College Observatory ClearSkyClock    5-day forecast

Aug 22 Wed eve 9:42pm - Occultation of 11.1 by Europa. 90% moon only 2 deg away! Northern limit across Santa Cruz.

Aug 26 Sun eve 10pm - Occultation of 13.6 star by Seeligeria, from Santa Cruz north. Try from home , 53 alt.

Aug 27 Mon - First day of classes

Aug 29 Wed morn 12:20am - Occultation of 12.7 combined 0.6 drop, by Iduna, from Pt Reyes

Sept 7-9 - Granite Man Challenge. 2.4 mile swim on Friday, 102 mi 6,643 ft climbing Gran Fondo bike on Saturday, 12.4 mi run to Tioga Pass Sunday.

Sept 15 Sat 9:30-2:30pm - STEM Teaching Science workshop Rm 618, Flex
Sept 16 Sunday 1:48am - Occultation of 7.2 by Sappho, one of the big events of '18, will get lots of observers. Get from Pt Reyes

Sept 17 Mon morn 12:44am - Occultation of 11.0 by Polyxnia, from Pt Reyes or Half Moon Bay north, but only 13 deg altitude

Sep 21 Fri morn 5:23am - Occultation of 11.9 by Julia, from Montara north.
Sep 25 Fri 3-5pm NAS Div meeting

Sept 26 Wed eve 8:23pm - Occultation of 12.3 by 13.5 Iduna, from Carrizo Plain and Los Banos, high rank

Sept 27 Thur morn 2am - Occultation of 12.4 star by 13.0 Vienna, from Carrizo Plain, high rank.

Sep 29 Sat morn 3am - Occultation of 11.8 by Carnegia from Russian River

Oct 12-14 - Fri-Sunday - Astro 25 "Field Astronomy in the California Mountains" course. at Stanislaus River/California Caverns

Nov 16 Fri 3-5pm NAS Div meeting

2019

Jan 20 Sun eve - Total Lunar eclipse graze from Pt Reyes Hostel of 7.8 during totality

Feb 9 Sat eve - Graze of 7.3 8 deg alt, from Cabrillo Observatory. Maybe special exped for Astro 8A?

Feb 12 Tue eve - Graze of 8.6 1.1s of 53% moon. At Pigeon Pt and also at Summit Store on Highland. Good Astro 8A expedition

Feb 27 Wed morn 4:44am - Graze of 4.4 13s of 39- moon from South Lake Tahoe. Would require perhaps x-ing Wed morn Astro 3 class

Mar 13 Wed eve - Graze of 6.8 1.1s of 47+ moon from Fremont Peak

Apr 6 Sat eve at twilight - Graze of 7.6 star 13s of 3+ moon, alt=9, sun-8. From Hollister, and Mineral King

Apr 20 Sat 12:30am - Occultation of 12.1 by Marghanna, in Central California

Jun 14 11:40pm - Occultation of 12.1 by Saskia somewhere near Carrizo Plain

Jul 11 Thur 1:11am - Occultation of 10.7 by Rosalia, Pt Reyes??

Jul 15 Sun 10:30pm - Occultation of 11.9 but full moon 13 deg away.

Aug 6 Tue 1:12am - Occultation of 10.2 by Bothua

Aug 9 Fri 1:19am - Occultation of 11.8 by Eugenia 11.5

Aug 25 Sun 4:40am - Graze of 3.0 Zeta Tauri 12n 30- moon from 55N of Lassen, 55s of Eureka.

Sept 22 8am - Graze of 2.9 Mu Geminorum by 45- moon 4.4n from 30n of Hat Creek - May be good choice for Astro 25 Fall course

Nov 29 5:53pm Fri eve - Graze of 5.5 6s of 13+ moon, from 13n Pinnacles

Dec 4 8:00pm Wed eve - Graze of 6.9 10s 58+ moon 41alt, from Locatelli Meadow

Dec 11 2:00am Wed morn - Graze of 3.5 Epsilon Tauri 11n 99% moon, from Fremont Peak

 

back to Rick's home page