Events on the Cabrillo Astronomy Calendar

As of May 7, 2018. Check out past events here.

Asteroid Occ Predictions: Steve Preston's , Derek Breit's , Calif Path Maps , SF Extra Event , Brad Timerson's , Report Template

Software: Using AVIsynth , TANGRA , Making Aladin Finder Charts , Limiting Mag , Registax and Occ Video

Making C2A Charts , 2-star Alignment of LX200gps , YouTube IOTA Videos

My "HowTo" on Reducing Asteroid Occultations , Reported Asteroid Occulations

Equipment: Watec 910HX , my Watec Tests , Video astrometry , PC165DNR , Video recording

South Bay Grazes , SF Grazes , Lunar Phases , Driving Distance Calculator , Remote Control of PC165DNR , Atmospheric Extinction vs Altitude=.4/sin(a) mags

Free WiFi hotspots in California , Comet /DSO Photo Op's
M67 Mag Chart , ToBuy

Cabrillo College Observatory ClearSkyClock    5-day forecast

May 14 - Mon 2:15pm eval

May 25 - Graduation

May 31 - Thur 9am - Jeff Moreno appt.

Jun 2 Sat - Nicene Marks Half Marathon

June 3 Sunday - Auburn Triathlon (w Ferrell)

Jun 7 - Thur 8:30am - Jeff Moreno appt.

Jun 10 Sunday - Lake Del Valle Swims (SCM's going)

Jun 14 Thur - 10:45am Jeff Moreno Appt.

Jun 21 Thur 10:15am Jeff Moreno Appt.

June 24 Sun 11am- Dennis Judson memorial celebration on Monastary Beach in Carmel

Jun 30 12:20am Sat - Occultation of 11.1 star from Lassen. Rank 56, not good.
Jun 30 9-noon - Astro 25 Pre-Trip Meeting in 705

Jul 2 - Planetarium show 2pm, for kids (Linneae from mid April emails)

Jul 7 10:20pm - Saturday: Occultation by the KBO Quaoar, from US. Odds maybe 15-20%? Altitude about 30 deg. Worthy target, but no word on final path yet.
July 7/8 - June Lake Triathlon . Registered.

Jul 10 Tue eve 9pm or so - Occultation of 12.0 star by Pulcova

Jul 11 Wed - Occultation of v=12 star by Pulcova and its satellite (?). High rank from Santa Cruz

Jul 13-15 - Astro 25 "Field Astro in the Calif Mtns" - at Chimney Peak based around Fri eve 11:45pm - Occultation of 9.3 by Christa, high rank, across Carrizo Plain, a bit south of Trail100G, but Chimney Pk campsite inside path and probably good. Target not too hard to find, in the "teaspoon" of Sagittarius

July 15-20 "The Physics of Galaxy Scaling Relations and the Nature of Dark Matter" - conference in Kingston Ontario, Canada.

July 21/22 - Donner Lake Triathlon ; I'm registered.

July 28 - SSP reunion

Aug 8-11 - Astrophotography and bristlecone studies at Barcroft Research Station

Aug 9 - 5am - Graze of 5.9 8n of 5- moon from Independence and White Mtns

Aug 27 Mon - First day of classes

Aug 25 - Lake Tahoe Triathlon

Sept 7-9 - Granite Man Challenge

Sept 15/16 - Malibu Triathlon
Sept 15 9:30-11:30am - STEM Teaching Science workshop Rm 618, Flex

Oct 12-14 - Fri-Sunday - Astro 25 "Field Astronomy in the California Mountains" course. Location - Probably Stanislaus River/California Caverns

2019

Jan 20 Sun eve - Total Lunar eclipse graze from Pt Reyes Hostel of 7.8 during totality

Feb 9 Sat eve - Graze of 7.3 8 deg alt, from Cabrillo Observatory. Maybe special exped for Astro 8A?

Feb 12 Tue eve - Graze of 8.6 1.1s of 53% moon. At Pigeon Pt and also at Summit Store on Highland. Good Astro 8A expedition

Feb 27 Wed morn 4:44am - Graze of 4.4 13s of 39- moon from South Lake Tahoe. Would require perhaps x-ing Wed morn Astro 3 class

Mar 13 Wed eve - Graze of 6.8 1.1s of 47+ moon from Fremont Peak

Apr 6 Sat eve at twilight - Graze of 7.6 star 13s of 3+ moon, alt=9, sun-8. From Hollister, and Mineral King

Apr 20 Sat 12:30am - Occultation of 12.1 by Marghanna, in Central California

Jun 14 11:40pm - Occultation of 12.1 by Saskia somewhere near Carrizo Plain

Jul 11 Thur 1:11am - Occultation of 10.7 by Rosalia, Pt Reyes??

Jul 15 Sun 10:30pm - Occultation of 11.9 but full moon 13 deg away.

Aug 6 Tue 1:12am - Occultation of 10.2 by Bothua

Aug 9 Fri 1:19am - Occultation of 11.8 by Eugenia 11.5

Aug 25 Sun 4:40am - Graze of 3.0 Zeta Tauri 12n 30- moon from 55N of Lassen, 55s of Eureka.

Sept 22 8am - Graze of 2.9 Mu Geminorum by 45- moon 4.4n from 30n of Hat Creek - May be good choice for Astro 25 Fall course

Nov 29 5:53pm Fri eve - Graze of 5.5 6s of 13+ moon, from 13n Pinnacles

Dec 4 8:00pm Wed eve - Graze of 6.9 10s 58+ moon 41alt, from Locatelli Meadow

Dec 11 2:00am Wed morn - Graze of 3.5 Epsilon Tauri 11n 99% moon, from Fremont Peak

 

back to Rick's home page